Sunday, 17 February 2008

Davy Byrnes Short Story Award 2009

This is exciting! The Stinging Fly has announced the return of the Davy Byrnes Irish Writing Award, Ireland's biggest short story competition and the world's richest prize for a single short story. Next year's award will see €25,000 going to the best short story and five runners-up receiving €1,000. The acclaimed American novelist and short story writer Richard Ford will judge the competition.

Timeline for 2009 Award:
Open for Entries: October 1st 2008

Deadline for Entries: Monday Feb 2nd 2009

Shortlist: late May/early June 2009

Winner Announced: June 2009

The competition is open to Irish citizens and to residents of the thirty-two counties. There is no word count limit, but entries must consist of a previously unpublished short story written in English. A full set of rules and entry forms will be made available in advance of the competition being open for entries in October.
See: Davy Byrnes Award


TitaniaWrites said... you think I could qualify as an "Irish" writer coz my Dad lives in Cork???

Women Rule Writer said...

Hi T
I think it's so funny how people 'change' nationality in order to enter prizes. British for the National S Story Prize (by being born there), Irish for The Irish Novel Award etc. Some writers I know have addresses in Ireland and the UK, to cover all bases! Not sure if a Dada in Cork qualifies, but hey, who am I to say?! It's an address....maybe you 'live' there half the year??!