Friday, 8 January 2010


Salt have announced the shortlist of the inaugural Scott Prize for Short Fiction, an important new venture for Salt as they continue to discover and nurture new talent from around the English-speaking world. The prize forms part of Salt’s commitment to the short story, to debut collections and to their vision of new literature in English as an international endeavour.

From almost a hundred entries and a longlist of 25, 12 full-length collections have been selected and from these, 4 winning titles will be announced next month for publication in the summer.

I recognise a few names: Wes Lee from Kiwi land who has been scooping up short fic prizes over the last few years at a rate of knots, and Joel Willans who I published in Southword. Go Joel!

Salt say: "The standard of entries was incredibly high, with authors spanning the spectrum of writing styles and a fascinating range of subject matter. Reading them was a daunting but most enjoyable task; whittling them down to a shortlist almost impossible. However, we are delighted with the outcome".

  1. Ben Cheetham: The Hate Club (UK)
  2. Alexandra Fox: Roundabouts (UK)
  3. Miriam Hastings: Demon Lovers (UK)
  4. Patrick Holland: The Source of Sound (Australia)
  5. Sandra Jensen: A Sort of Walking Miracle (Ireland)
  6. Laurence Klavan: Family Unit and Other Fantasies (US)
  7. Wes Lee: This Animal Kingdom and Other Stories (NZ)
  8. Mary McClusky: Gift to the Dark Gods (UK)
  9. David Philip Mullins: Longing to Love You (US)
  10. Susannah Richards: Hot Kitchen Snow and Other Stories (UK)
  11. Tom Vowler: They May Not Mean To But They Do (UK)
  12. Joel Willans: Buy Ma Biscuits or Kiss Ma Fish (UK)
Many congratulations to you all and best of luck as you go through to the next round.


Tanya said...

sniff...sniff.. :(


Better luck next time, T. Something else is waiting around the corner for you ;)

Vanessa Gebbie said...

fantastic shortlist - what a tough decision coming up...

Rachel Fenton said...

It's an ugly kind of wonderful to have to be judged for of luck to everybody and chin up for t'others!

Ossian said...

Fingers crossed for Ben Cheetham whose title story "The Hate Club" (in New Short Stories 3) was runner-up in the Willesden competition earlier this year and Wes Lee, one of our shortlisted from a previous year with "The Dead Don't Do That Kind of Thing" (in New Short Stories 1). Having also picked Jo Lloyd who then won the Asham, I'm feeling a bit insufferable.


Oss - Insufferable or 'I shudda been an agent'?
G'luck to all!

Ossian said...

Yes, good luck to all - of course. You're right.