Thursday, 22 April 2010


It's an all-male novelist shortlist for the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award this year. Actress Kate O'Toole and author, Giles Foden adjudicated and chose the final five shortlisted novels for this year's prize fund of €15,000. They are: The Infinities by John Banville, Glover's Mistake by Nick Laird, Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann, The Space Between Us by John McKenna and Not True and Not Unkind by Ed O'Loughlin.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday the 2nd of June at the official opening of the Festival which will run to Sunday 6th of June. Frank Hayes, Director of Corporate Affairs with Kerry Group, has been sponsoring the Fiction Award for the last 15 years,

"Kerry Group is again proud to sponsor the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award. Now entering its 16th year, this award continues to be a much sought after accolade in the Irish literary calendar, with the 2010 award attracting excellent entries from a myriad of established and up-and-coming Irish writers." said Hayes.

This year the competition attracted over 50 entries creating tense competition for the authors. Adjudicator, Kate O'Toole found the process of selection both enjoyable and extremely difficult,

"When asked to adjudicate this year's competition I did not anticipate how personally involved I would become with each of the novels. I was acutely aware of the difference an award of this nature represents for the winner and found the final process of selection challenging as there were so many talented novels to choose from" she said.

My money's on Colum McCann.

1 comment:

Kar said...

I'm with you McCann...

but why are there no women writers on the short list grrrrr!