Thursday, 6 October 2011

Troubadour International Poetry Prize

My friend Patrick brings this to my attention:

The £2,500 Fifth Annual Troubadour International Poetry Prize

Magma’s launch readings have been hosted by Coffee-House Poetry at the Troubadour for many years.
Knowing many Magma readers are also Coffee-House regulars, we would like to bring to your attention the Fifth Annual Troubadour International Poetry Prize.
Here are the judges and prizes – to enter the competition (and for the rules of entry) visit this page of the Coffee-House Poetry website.

Judged by Susan Wicks & David Harsent (with both judges reading all poems).

Sponsored by Cegin Productions.


1st £2,500, 2nd £500, 3rd £250 & 20 prizes of £20 each
Plus a Spring 2012 Coffee-House-Poetry season-ticket
Prizewinners’ Coffee-House Poetry reading with Susan Wicks & David Harsent on Mon 28th Nov 2011 for all prize-winning poets
Submissions: by Monday 17th October 2011


Susan Wicks has lived and worked in France, Ireland and America and has taught at University College Dublin and University of Kent; she is the author of five collections of poetry including Singing Underwater (1992), which won the Aldeburgh Poetry Festival Prize, and The Clever Daughter (1996), which was shortlisted for both T.S. Eliot and Forward Prizes, and she was a Poetry Society ‘New Gen’ poet in 1994. A short memoir, Driving My Father, was published in 1995. She is the author of two novels, The Key (1997) and Little Thing (1998), and Roll Up for the Arabian Derby, her collection of short stories, was published in 2008. Her latest collection of poetry is House of Tongues (Bloodaxe, 2011).

David Harsent, a Visiting Professor at Sheffield Hallam University and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, has published ten collections of poetry and several limited editions, and has received a number of awards, including the Eric Gregory Award, the Geoffrey Faber Award and the Cheltenham Festival Prize. His most recent collection, Night (Faber, 2011) was a PBS choice and shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot Prize. His previous book, Legion, won the Forward Prize for best collection 2005 and was shortlisted for both the Whitbread Award and the T.S. Eliot Prize. His Selected Poems was published in June 2007, and was shortlisted for the Griffin International Poetry Prize.

No comments: