Wednesday, 29 April 2009

Overall Hennesy Award Winner Announced

According to my sources, David Mohan has been announced as the overall Hennessy New Writer of the Year, as well as the category winner in poetry. I haven't heard yet who scooped the fiction prizes. Update anon!

I met David a couple of years ago at a workshop I gave in Dublin and I am delighted with his good news. Congrats!


And here are the rest of yesterday's winners. Congrats to all, but most especially to fellow blogger Eimear. Good on you, girl!:

Eimear Ryan was awarded with Best First Fiction Writer for her short story 'Caterpillar', with Kevin Power receiving the Best Emerging Fiction Writer award for his short story, 'The American Girl'.

Dublin-born writer Hugo Hamilton, perhaps best known for his 2003 memoir of his childhood, The Speckled People, was also honoured at the awards with an induction into the Hennessy Literary Awards Hall of Fame.

He follows on from Booker Prize winner Anne Enright, on whom the honour was bestowed last year.


BarbaraS said...

Congrats to David - that's a great boost for him.

Eimear said...

Thanks a million Nuala! I'm still grinning like an idiot. :)

Tania Hershman said...

Congratulations to all!


And so you should be, Eimear - what a lovely feeling to win a Hennessy! Great stuff.
I swear to God, ALL my writer/blogging friends are having HEAPS of success. There is some magic in the air around blogland. Long may it continue!

Uiscebot said...

Congrats to all the winners. I'm especially delighted for David though.